Guides

2027 ACA Rate Increases in Arizona: Every Filed Rate

A weathered metal mailbox holding envelopes at the end of a gravel drive in the Sonoran desert, saguaro behind it

Every Arizona carrier that filed a 2027 rate change for ACA individual plans is in the federal Rate Review system. The filings are public. The spread is wide, from 3.3% to 33.9%, which tells you immediately that a single statewide average would hide more than it reveals. Below is what each carrier asked for, and what this list does and does not cover. Then why the filed percentage is almost certainly not the percentage you will pay. And if Cigna is your carrier, one change matters more than any of these numbers.

What each Arizona carrier filed for 2027

Seven carriers filed ACA rate changes. The range runs 3.3% to 33.9%, so the average is the least useful number in the set.

Taken from the federal Rate Review system, which publishes filings by state and company along with each carrier’s own plain-language justification.

What this list is, precisely, because the scope matters. These are the carriers that filed a 2027 rate change for ACA-compliant individual plans in the federal Rate Review system. That is not the same thing as every company selling individual health coverage here. Short-term, fixed-benefit and minimum-essential-coverage products do not file rates this way, so they will never appear on a list like this. Neither would a carrier that filed no change. We place several of those non-ACA products ourselves. A page claiming to cover the whole individual market would be contradicted by our own plan pages. If price is pushing you outside ACA coverage, read the tradeoffs on our short-term and private plans page first. Those are not ACA-compliant comprehensive coverage.

These are requested rates, not approved rates. Every Arizona filing is marked pending review. Arizona regulators issue approved rates in the fall, ahead of plans going on sale, and a carrier rarely receives exactly what it requested. Read these as opening positions. We update this page when Arizona approves.

Same story, other states. Alabama is a different shape: nobody leaving, and the largest carrier blaming something other than medical costs. Texas filed the mildest increases of the three and is where the subsidy question dominates everything else.

Every 2027 Arizona individual-market filing, highest to lowest

CarrierRequested change
Oscar Health Plan33.9%
Imperial Insurance Companies30.1%
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona29.6%
UnitedHealthcare of Arizona28.6%
Health Net Community Solutions28.0%, but off-exchange only for 2027, so its plans carry no subsidy
Arizona Complete Health24.6%
Antidote Health Plan3.3%

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Requested, not approved. Six of the seven filings are on-Marketplace. Arizona regulators issue approved rates in the fall, and a carrier rarely receives exactly what it requested. Source: the federal Rate Review system.

  • We are not publishing a statewide average, on purpose. Arizona has not published one, and two carriers did not disclose how many members their filings cover. Any average we produced would be arithmetic dressed up as a fact. What is honest is the range: 3.3 to 33.9%.
Filed, not approved2027 ACA individual-market rate requests in Arizona

The honest number is the range: 3.3% to 33.9%, not an average. Two carriers did not disclose member counts, so any average would be arithmetic dressed up as a fact. Highlighted: Health Net filed off-exchange only, so no subsidy applies to it.

If Cigna is your carrier, the percentage is not your problem

Cigna filed for Arizona small group but not for individual coverage. Individual members are choosing a new carrier for 2027 either way.

This is the Arizona-specific fact that outranks every number above.

The Marketplace backstop is worth having, but it is a mapping, not advice. We wrote up the whole sequence in what Arizona Cigna members should do now.

The filed percentage is not your percentage

If you get a premium tax credit, the benchmark moves with the market and absorbs much of the increase.

Your credit is pegged to a benchmark plan, the second-cheapest silver plan available to you, and that benchmark is re-set every year. When the whole Arizona market rises together, the benchmark rises with it and your credit rises too. So your net premium can move far less than 29% suggests. More on how ACA Marketplace plans and subsidies work.

Where it stops working is above 400% of the federal poverty level, where there is no credit and a filed increase lands in full. That line is a different income for every household size. We do not re-explain the arithmetic here because we have already written it up properly: how your income estimate affects your subsidy.

Two things that are specific to shopping in Arizona

Every plan on the Arizona Marketplace is an HMO, and the field has been reshuffling fast. Both change how you compare.

Before either of them, the number that reframes everything above. About 83% of Arizona Marketplace enrollees received financial help in 2026, so for most households here the subsidy mechanics matter more than any carrier’s filing. And Arizona comes into 2027 off a steep year: the approved 2026 increase was roughly 46% before subsidies. Against that, a 2027 field clustered in the high twenties and low thirties is a smaller jump than last year, not a larger one.

Then the churn. The field of who is even selling here has been shifting, and that matters more than a percentage. A plan that does not exist next year cannot be renewed. And a carrier new to the state has no track record with your doctors. Check your doctors and your hospital by name against the specific plan you are considering, because one carrier can run several different networks.

What to do before open enrollment

Arizona-specific, in order, and the Cigna item has the tightest clock.

One calendar note. Open enrollment opens November 1. December 15 is the cutoff for coverage starting January 1 and January 15, 2027 closes enrollment. Those dates were unsettled for months after a June 2026 court ruling vacated the shortened-window rule, and CMS has since confirmed January 15. our Arizona page carries the rest.

  • Cigna individual members, start first. You are changing carrier regardless, and the plans that fit your doctors get taken.
  • Check the HMO network before the price. Every Arizona Marketplace plan is an HMO. A referral requirement and a closed network are the baseline, not a downgrade you chose.
  • Rerun your credit against the new benchmark. Five minutes, and it changes what these percentages mean for you.
  • Ignore Health Net if you want a subsidy. It filed off-exchange only for 2027, so no premium credit applies to it.

Common questions

Frequently asked questions

How much are Arizona health insurance rates going up in 2027?

Arizona's seven individual-market carriers filed increases ranging from 3.3% to 33.9%. Those are requested figures, not approved ones, and regulators issue final rates in the fall before plans go on sale. We are deliberately not quoting a statewide average, because two carriers did not disclose how many members their filings cover, which makes any average we calculated look more precise than it is.

Will my premium go up by the filed percentage?

Usually not, if you receive a premium tax credit. Your credit is calculated against a benchmark plan that is re-set every year, so when the market rises together your credit tends to rise with it and your net premium moves far less than the headline. If your income is above 400% of the federal poverty level you get no credit, and then an increase does land in full.

Is Cigna leaving Arizona?

Cigna is leaving the Arizona individual market for 2027. It filed for Arizona small group but not for individual coverage. If you hold a Cigna individual plan in Arizona you will be selecting a new carrier for 2027, and the Marketplace may assign you one automatically if you do nothing, which is a category match rather than a match to your doctors.

Are all Arizona Marketplace plans HMOs?

Every medical plan on the Arizona Marketplace is an HMO, which means a defined network, referrals for specialists, and generally no out-of-network coverage except emergencies. If you are used to an employer PPO this is the change most likely to surprise you, and it is worth checking your doctors by name before choosing on price.

When are the final 2027 Arizona rates announced?

Final approved rates publish in the fall, before plans go on sale for open enrollment. Until then the filed numbers are the opening position. We update this page when the approved figures come out.

Should I wait for the final numbers before doing anything?

No, because the two things worth doing now do not depend on them: confirm what your household income estimate will be, and write down your doctors and prescriptions. Both take minutes, both are needed whatever the rates turn out to be, and having them ready is the difference between choosing in an afternoon and rushing it in December.

“They are professional, responsive, knowledgeable, and always willing to help.”
Kasilyn H. via Google

Read our reviews on Google →

This article is general information, not a recommendation for your situation. Plan availability, benefits, premiums, and eligibility vary by state, carrier, plan, and personal circumstances, and the rules change.

Ready to see your options?

Tell us a little about your situation and a licensed insurance agent gets back to you, usually the same business day and often within minutes during business hours. No spam, no obligation.

This is a solicitation of insurance. A licensed agent may contact you.

Get My Free Quote